Databases by Category

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
Full text for more than 2,000 journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Ancestry.com
"In-library" use only. Instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research including 4 billion names in over 3,400 databases; includes records from the United States census; military records; court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists, and more.
Animals (EBSCO)
Auto Repair Reference Center (for vehicles from 1945 - 2009)
Biography in Context (Gale)
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Includes all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Congressional Quarterly Politics
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (Gale)
More than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Allows users to search by author name, title of work, nationality, subject/genre, ethnicity, critic name, and more.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale)
Full text periodicals for teachers and school administrators.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)
Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers (many with full text and images!) across all academic disciplines.
FirstSearch (OCLC)
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
Blackbirch Kid's Visual Reference of the World, World Almanac, Book of Facts*, and more.
General Business File ASAP (Gale)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.
General Reference Center Gold(Gale)
Latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, arts & sciences, sports & hobbies.
General OneFile (Gale)
One-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.
GreenFile (EBSCO)
All things environmental from Air & Waste to Zoologica Scripta.
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
Integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, newspaper articles, topical overviews, and reference books.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition (EBSCO)
550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines along with abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
Healthcare.gov
Launched by the U.S. government, this site is designed to help Americans understand the Health Care Reform Act.
Heritage Quest
Includes the digitized UMI Genealogy & Local History Collection, 1790-1930 U.S. Federal Census, the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), and the Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files.
Infotrac K-12 Junior Edition (Gale)
(K - Gr. 12)- Designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports & more.
Infotrac K-12 Student Edition (Gale)
Designed for high-school students, database accesses a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Job Search: Online and Print Resources (pdf brochure)
Job Seekers Find Valuable Support at the Library
Kids InfoBits (Gale)
(K - Gr. 5)- Especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten--Gr. 5
Kids Search (EBSCO)
Designed for youth in Grades K-8th
LearningExpressLibrary
A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons succeed on academic or licensing tests.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)
Critiques of authors and their works.
Massachusetts History Online (Gale)
Massachusetts Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections Directory
Guide and locator of collections residing in Massachusetts libraries, archives, historical societies and town clerk's offices.
Massachusetts Recovery and Reinvestment Plan
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)
Magazine and newspaper articles, full text reference books, primary source documents and images.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more created by the National Library of Medicine.
Middle Search Plus (EBSCO)
Full text for 140 popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. Also contains 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.
New York Times 1995+ (Infotrac)
Click here for in-library access.
Click here for remote access.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. It also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Novelist (EBSCO)
Fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, and more.
Powersearch (Gale)
Use this link to search across databases.
Primary Search (EBSCO)
Full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. Full text information dates as far back as 1990 and are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
Highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
ProQuest: Massachusetts Newstand
Banner (West Boylston)
Berkshire Eagle 2005 to current
Boston Globe 1980 to current
Boston Globe (pre-1997 full text)
Boston Herald 1991 to current
Business West (Chicopee) 1992 to current
The Item (Clinton)
Montachusett T&G (Worchester)
New England Business (Dublin)
North Adams Transcript 2005 to current
Patriot Ledger(Quincy) 1991 to current
Plymouth County Business Review 1991 to current
The Record (Shrewsbury)
Sentinel & Enterprise(Fitchburg) 2005 to current
Sun, The (Lowell) 2004 to current
Telegram & Gazette(Worcester) 1989 to current
Gazette(Haverhill, Mass.) 12-31-92 to 8-9-97
Standard Times(New Bedford) 1-4-92 to 8-19-97
Regional Business News (EBSCO)
Covers 75 newspapers, newswires and journals from the U.S.
Searchasaurus (EBSCO)
State Library of Massachusetts: DSpace
Super Search
Use this link to search multiple databases.
Universal Class
Learn something new today! Over 500 online continuing education courses.
WorldCat (OCLC)
Cooperative database of bibliographic records contributed by more than 57,000 libraries, making it the world's largest, most complete, and most consulted library catalog.
Copyright © 2011 Peabody Institute Library. All rights reserved.